From the Garden

Salad

Fresh Garden Salad

It feels so good to take a bowl or basket out to the garden and pick something fresh to eat, knowing it has grown naturally, without the use of anything chemical or nasty.  The fact that there are a few snails and caterpillars, feasting on my produce only assures me that it is healthy!  They know what to eat to grow big and strong. Something full of sprays keeps the bugs away.

This little frog living amongst the young Yucca plants in the shade house lets me know that the environment in there is healthy and life supporting too!

Frog-in-Yucca-SeedlingsWith it being a hot, dry spring day here in Queensland, I felt like a nice fresh salad for lunch. It didn’t take long to picked a couple of carrots, some radish, garlic chives, fennel, ceylon spinach, mustard lettuce, red lettuce, cos lettuce, endive,  rocket, nasturtium leaves, and some tomatoes from my garden.

Rocket

Rocket ready for harvesting

With the lettuces, rocket, nasturtium, fennel and garlic chives, I just pick off the leaves I want to use and leave it to grow more ready for the next picking.  This way I can harvest over a few weeks to a few months before the plant needs replacing.

Cos Lettuce with larger leaves harvested.

Cos Lettuce with larger leaves harvested.

With plants like spring onions, coriander, rocket, radish and various others, I let a plant go to seed naturally where they are, so new plants keep coming up through the natural selection of the strongest seeds germinating when the conditions are right. The tomatoes seed from the few tomatoes that get over ripe before I pick them, and end up in the garden. Any diseased fruit or plant gets disposed of, of course, so as not to spread disease or weak plants.  With the purple climbing bean, I let one or maybe two bean pods grow past the tender, juicy stage for eating and when the outside of the bean casing starts to dry up a bit I pick the beans out and plant them, so they will grow up and replace the parent plant that is probably getting a bit tired by then.  This keeps beans continually on the menu.

I am what can be termed a lazy gardener, although I prefer to call it simple, natural and for me, sustainable gardening. I let Nature and the plants do most of the work. It works OK for me, and isn’t labour intensive.  I can spend as little or as much time as I choose in the garden and still reap the benefits.

Do you grow food Naturally in pots or in the ground?

.

Untitled-2Shared on Thriving Thursday   Frugal Days, Sustainable Ways 

Old-Fashioned Friday     Small Footprint Friday

5 thoughts on “From the Garden

  1. I am a lazy gardner too!I love the ones that reseed:-) I am heading out to mine for dinner pickings…Kale tonight…finally our kale is taking off and will be tasting sweet..you are so right in your opening–“It feels so good to take a bowl or basket out to the garden and pick something fresh to eat….” oh that is what makes it so worth all the effort to create the outdoor places to grow your own food!

  2. Great post. I am booked in for a PDC in january and looking forward to moving into our new home next year where i can practice my sustainable gardening. I love that you let some plants go to seed, your garden almost looks after it self. So beautiful 🙂

      • Next year is going to be a BIG year for my wife and I and we are so excited. I hope I keep up with my blog an keep you all up to date.

Leave a Reply

