Jellied Mint Sauce

IMG_2470

Is your mint plant starting to take over the garden?

Tired of your mint sauce running all over the plate?

Here is a solution to both these dilemmas.

I know it is a bit of a ‘know no’, but I have mint growing in my vege garden. It seems very happy there and is growing really well. Every now and then I just come along and pull the runners up, roots and all. After picking the lovely juicy, fresh stems and leaves off, I either plant the roots somewhere in the yard or give them away to someone else to plant in their garden or a corner of their yard.

The fresh leaves and tips are used in mint sauce, mint dip, salads, roll ups, wraps, smoothies, just nibbled on as a refreshing snack or anything else I can think of at the time.

Here is how I make my Jellied Garden Mint Sauce ~

Ingredients:

5g gelatin
½ cup boiling water
2 large handfuls of mint leaves and tips
2 tablespoon ACV (Apple Cider Vinegar)
1 dessertspoon sugar or honey
Mustard seeds (optional)

Instructions:

Put the boiling water in a small bowl and add the gelatin. Stir until the gelatin dissolves. I then add all the ingredients to my blender and blend until the mint is chopped to the desired texture.

If you don’t have a blender, just finely chop the mint and combine all the ingredients, after you have dissolved the gelatin in the hot water. The ingredients can be combined while the water is still hot, or when it cools, depending on how much of a hurry you are in at the time.

When the ingredients are all combined, tip the sauce into a jar or container and put it in the fridge. The gelatin will set and hold the mint sauce together, so voilà, no more mint sauce running all over the plate.

Actually, I put more than double the amount of mint in the last batch I made (pictured above) because there was sooo much mint.

I use organic ACV because I believe it is a healthy alternative, but for a slightly different flavor, malt vinegar can be used instead.

Cumin seeds can be used as an addition instead of mustard seeds for another variation. I add the seeds after I blend the sauce, but I’m sure it works equally well to blend them as well.

The important thing is to experiment and have fun. Imagine what the flavours might be like together in your mind, then try them, a little at a time and see how they taste.

The proof of the pudding is always in the eating!

Enjoy.

signOffShared on Old-Fashioned Friday

Leave a Reply

